Exclusive - ConnectUSS | Official Newsletter for USS


Karan Gupta

The USLLS Debating Society was formally founded in 2013, with Ali Zia Chaudhary as the President. In the time since, it has evolved into a strong and active society with nearly 50 members across all batches of the college. With the recruitment trials in 2014 that saw heavy participation, around 20 students from the first year were added to the society. It is currently headed by Dr. Queeny Pradhan Singh as Faculty In-charge and the student executive is headed by Rahul Matai (5th Year) as the President and Sonali Singh (5th Year) as the Convenor. Aditi Tripathi (4th Year) is the Vice President, Karan Gupta (3rd Year) is the Treasurer and Umika Sharma (3rd Year) is the General Secretary, while S.L.Sriram (2nd Year) and Geetika Srivastava (2nd Year) are Joint Secretaries. Rahul Chawla (5th Year) has taken up the post of Master-At-Arms.

The USLLS DebSoc has participated actively in various debates all over India, including NLU Delhi, RGNUL Patiala, Jindal Global Law School, Haryana and various other institutions. The DebSoc has been effective in shaping talented and vocal debaters in its short period of existence. The USLLS DebSoc has been confined not only to the law school but has been making efforts to promote an ambience for debate especially the parliamentary debate format in the USS and its affiliated colleges. It has provided inputs with regard to framing rules and logistics for the debating events held during the Independence Week Celebrations, 2014. The Debating Society has produced excellent adjudicators, with even junior adjudicators being selected as part of adjudication panels in Delhi University debates. The DebSoc aims to organise debating events in the university in collaboration with some of the prestigious organisations in the field. We hope to bring in Model United Nations to the University Campus